ANN WADE HOUSE circa 1831
     The original part of this charming early Beaufort cottage was what was known, at that time, as a “story and a jump.” It consisted of the entrance hall, a front room, and an attic. For its first hundred years, it was owned mostly women. When, where, and by whom it was built remains an on-going puzzle.
     In 1813 records show Beaufort Commissioners Joseph Bell, Jechonias Pigott, and George Reed deeded that lot #85 to James Coe for 50 shillings. The next mention of the lot was in 1829 when the trustees of the University of North Carolina sold it to James Hart for $105. In 1830 James Hart sold the lot to Ann Wade.